RESOLUTION 2022 – 05

Resolution Of The Board Of Trustees Of Lake Travis Community Library District Regarding Pandemic Response And Emergency Suspension Of Policy

WHEREAS, on March 11, 2020, the World Health Organization characterized COVID-19 as a pandemic.

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2020, the Governor of the State of Texas certified that COVID-19 posed an imminent threat of disaster and declared a state of disaster for all counties in Texas.

WHEREAS, on March 16, 2020, the Lake Travis Community Library District closed to the public in response to an increased threat level posted by Austin-Travis County Public Health.

WHEREAS the Board acknowledges that during the pandemic, the Library Director needs to make frequent decisions for the benefit of the District, staff, and District residents and to place the District in the best position to resume normal operation as soon as it is safe to do so.

WHEREAS the Board may by formal action suspend or rescind any board policy as deemed necessary, appropriate, or in the best interests of the District.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees of Lake Travis Community Library District delegates to the Library Director all authority to modify the District's Board policies at her sole discretion that she deems to be in the best interest of the District to react to situations that may be present in the District during the statedeclared disaster period in order to mitigate the public health risks of COVID-19.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Library Director shall report modifications to policy to the Board at the time such modifications are made and at the first Board meeting following the exercise of the delegated authority herein. The delegation of authority set forth in the resolution is effective from and after its passage until the library reopens to the public, for a closure with a maximum duration of 6 months unless the Board takes action to authorize leave for longer duration.

Adopted this 28th day of July 2022, by the Board of Trustees.

Sharon Rogers, President

Amy Holland, Secretary