MINUTES OF THE FRIENDS OF THE LAKE TRAVIS COMMUNITY LIBRARY

1938 Lohman's Crossing Rd., Lakeway, Texas 78734

November 16, 2023

Attendees: Amy Holland, Joyce Botta, Helen Kott, Cheryl Stewart, Mariah Froehlich, Renae Duncan, Mimi King, Mary Lois Reico, Morgan McMillian, Krista Byrd, Ronda Spurlin

President Joyce Botta called the meeting to order at 1:00 pm.

Minutes of the September 23, 2023, meeting were approved.

Amy presented the Treasurer's Report and the 2024 Budget. Both were approved, accepted, and are attached. She also reported a \$3,000 donation from the Lakeway Swim Team for library Teen scholarships.

Renae reported approximately \$700 in sales from the Friends Bookstore for last month and that things are going well.

Mimi reports the Butterfly Garden is doing well. Mimi and her husband trimmed some branches from storm-damaged trees.

Mariah reports volunteer shifts running smoothly. The Volunteer Gala will be January 27. 2024.

Morgan welcomed Mariah back and we now have a new employee, Krista Byrd, working with Karen Ballinger on the Bookmobile. Krista was introduced earlier. Other library events were the Teen Art Contest, and the Pumpkin Parade. Coming up is a Christmas Party and visit from Santa. Jim Bannerot and Sharon Rogers were reelected to the Library District unopposed.

Morgan reported for Beth Yoder that teen Scholarship applications will be out January 2, 2024.

Morgan reported for the Art Committee that Pam Sachant is now the Chairman, and other members are Mary Lois Reico, and Victoria Waite. For 2024 there will be some programs in conjunction with the Lakeway Art District and Lakeway Arts Committee. Revisions to the Art policy were approved and are attached.

Morgan gave us an update on West Library. Three general contractor bids were
received ranging from \$1.1 million to \$1.5 million and they hope to hire a
contractor by the end of this year. She also announced a Capital campaign
(funding) for West with a goal of \$1,000,000.

There will be a brief meeting December 11:15.	14 at 11:00 am followed by a Potluck at
Meeting was adjourned at 2:00pm.	
Respectfully submitted,	
Joyce Botta, President	Helen Kott, Secretary